Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Stanford Medal

Main content start

The Stanford Medal annually honors volunteer leaders with decades of distinguished volunteer service to the university.

Jon Blum, '84

Jon is a selfless mentor to students and fellow alumni, inspiring and unlocking the potential of many Stanford rising stars. He is a key leader for the Office of Undergraduate Admission’s OVAL program, a devoted visionary for Stanford Career Education’s Stanford Alumni Mentoring (SAM), a stalwart New York volunteer and a respected former Trustee. Through his tremendous ongoing commitment to the greater university family, Jon has touched countless lives.

Hong Seh Lim

Hong Seh Lim, MS '83, MS '83, MS '87, PhD '87

Hong Seh is an ardent volunteer whose often understated demeanor belies his outsized impact. Over thirty years, he has proven himself a vital link between Stanford and Asia, serving as a key liaison for the Office of Development, and has held leadership roles for the Parents’ Advisory Board, School of Engineering, Athletics, Interdisciplinary Life Sciences, and numerous campaigns. Hong Seh’s devotion to and sincere love for the university is truly unmatched.

Ruthanne Mefford

Ruthanne Hosterman Mefford, '77

Ruthanne Mefford has been the ultimate banner carrier for the university for four decades, bringing enthusiasm and strategic prowess to every endeavor. She has held nearly every Stanford leadership role in greater Houston, championed her class campaigns and reunions, and proved a singular force on the SAA Board of Directors, where she served as chair. Ruthanne is the embodiment of the energy, inclusivity and vision that are Stanford’s hallmarks.

List of past recipients

Robert H. Piestewa Ames, ’51, JD ’54
Victor Arias, MBA ’82
Charles G. Armstrong, JD ’67
Bill Barnum, Jr., ’76, MBA ’80, JD ’80
Juli Oh Browne, ’91
Young J. Boozer III, ’71
Stuart C. Burden, '84 
Kathryn Ko Chou, ’85, MS ’86
Michelle Clayman, MBA ’79
Linda Hawes Clever, ’61, MD ’65
Mary B. Cranston, ’70, JD ’75
W. Craig Falkenhagen, ’74, MS ’75, MBA ’89
Bernadine Chuck Fong, ’66, MA ’68, PhD ’83
Ivan K. Fong, JD ’87
Michelle Greer Galloway, '87, JD '89
Diane Fields Geocaris, ’72, JD ’75
Phil Halperin, ’85
Andrew J. Howard, '98
Elwood “Woody” Howse, ’61, MBA ’70
George A. Jedenoff, ’40, MBA ’42
Sally Pollock Lannin, ’78
Goodwin Liu, ’91
Lloyd M. Metz, ’90
Gretchen Hartnack Milligan, ’73, MBA ’75
Woodrow A. Myers, Jr., ’74, MBA ’82
Angela Nomellini, ’75
Susan Coleman Oberndorf, ’78
Denise O’Leary, ’79
Vilma Kennedy Pallette, ’52
Lise A. Pfeiffer, ’75
Rowland K. “Reb” Rebele, ’51
Miriam Rivera, ’86, AM ’89, MBA ’94, JD ’95
Jesse T. Rogers, ’79
Beverly P. Ryder, ’72
Pam Rymer, LLB ’64
Jennifer Arnold Satre, ’71
Phil Satre, ’71
Bill K. Shen, ’98
Risa Shimoda, ’77
V. Joy Simmons, ’74
Sandy Smith, ’78
Jeffrey E. Stone, ’78
Gail Aguilar Stypula, ’59
Jim Ukropina, ’59, MBA ’61